St. Cuthbert’s was built in 1834 on the site of several earlier churches, which were demolished due to poor building materials or lack of space for visitors. The structure we know today is composed of red brick in the Perpendicular Gothic style, but the interior hearkens back to a much earlier time. The church also boasts a beautiful and varied collection of stained glass windows from a wide range of makers. All these factors lead the building to be listed Grade II* in January 1971.
We were asked to create light fittings in the Medieval style, in keeping with the church’s interior. We are extremely proud of the ornate hanging five-light pendants that can be seen throughout the parish. These fixtures are composed of burnished copper and brass leading to a polished steel centre coronet. Suspended from this are five opal glass spheres housing compact fluorescent lamps. Great British Lighting also manufactured the antique brass candlesticks set out in the choir stalls.