E Cauldron. This may sound weird, but I'm a beginner to both Paganism and witchcraft. Its not like you have several societies worshiping dogs, horses or birds. How would you describe it? Discover the ancient Pagan Deities from all over the world! To understand the relationship between the gods and the animals we shall use the cults of Sobek and Bastet . BlackCat337 8 mo. Celtic pagan gods and goddesses were thought to have special influential powers over aspects of daily life and the natural world. In relation to this magical aspect, it is necessary to remember those demonic entities named in the oracles dogs and taken as a supply of Hecate in his epiphanies. For more information, please see our In Hindu religion, Shiva sits upon a tiger or tigers skin. Candle colors are red and green. However, she originally had the head of a lion or a desert sand-cat and it was not until the New Kingdom that she became exclusively associated with . Furthermore, dogs represent safety, loyalty, guidance and thats why they are often presented as guardians of the afterlife and guidance for the deal. pagan101 posted this. In ancient Greek religion, she is also known as Ailuros, Greek for cat. What ancient "pagans" really thought about their deities. According to Zelda (Miranda Otto), pagan witches died out when Satanic witches, and Christianity, ascended but it appears they thought wrong. Her sacred candle colour is green. Toggle navigation. Does anyone think one of that cat gods or goddesses would be the ones I should try to work with? In most Pagan traditions, interaction with the Divine is a key part of the belief system. She's a very fantastic goddess. Her physical, earthly form, is entirely feline. This notion persists, despite the likelihood that the creation goes in the other direction: that God is a human projection of the image of man. You may have seen this cat as a figurine with one paw raised. The Different Types of Pagan Deities. Bastet was the goddess of protection, pleas